Naruto Shippuden Episode 252 – The Angelic Herald of Death Review / Thoughts

After last week’s disappointing episode, I had high hopes for episode 252. As a massive Konan fan I thought this week would be an instant hit for me, but yet again I can’t help but feel let down.

Like I said, I am a huge fan of Konan. She is definitely one of my favourite characters in the series, and so when I saw this episode coming up I couldn’t help but feel excited. Having already read this part in the Manga sometime last year, it left me even more hopeful that the Anime would end up producing something brilliant, but sadly my hopes have been pretty much dashed, at least in terms of this week.

That said, for Anime only fans who were getting a completely new experience I can see why they would like this. The fact Madara went to Amegakure to try and take back the Rinnegan is a pretty big revelation, as are his claims that he was the one who encouraged Yahiko to create the Akatsuki as well as giving Nagato the Rinnegan in the first place. One of the things I felt let this episode down was the fact these huge revelations just seemed to lack the same impact as in the Manga, where it just seemed amazing and mind blowing at the time. The Anime was ok, but definitely a step down from how the Manga handled it in my honest opinion.

The other thing that hindered this episode was the large amounts of flashbacks. Fair enough Konan remembering her time as a kid with Yahiko and Nagato is to be expected and I don’t even see much wrong with it, but not only did the episode spend too much time showing it, but also the amount of time spent on her flashback to when Naruto convinced Nagato to believe in him seemed unnecessary and very dragged out.

And that’s ultimately what spoiled the episode for me, instead of seeing Konan vs Madara – which is an epic fight I have to say – most of the episode was wasted on flashbacks. I know they can be a necessary evil sometimes, but I just feel this episode went too far with them and as a result most of the tension and excitement gained from the new material was wasted and pretty much hard to keep going when every few minutes you were hit with yet another flashback.

As someone who was blown away by these parts in the Manga and as a massive fan of Konan, I can’t help but feel let down that the Anime could go and do such a bad job with it. Next week they still have the chance to redeem it however and I pray that is the case, because if this is the standard they are going to keep for Konan vs Madara, me (and a lot of other Madara and Konan fans I am sure) will feel nothing short of cheated.

In short, this episode was pretty poor and is made worse if you have a particular liking for either Madara or Konan, so here’s just hoping we get to see some uninterrupted action next week between the pair that will make up for this offering.

Leave a Reply

